Check Us Out on Facebook

Donald Peterson Technology Award

The Award in the amount of $1,000 and other appropriate recognition will be provided annually to a CALS faculty or academic staff member or team for outstanding effectiveness in improving public understanding of new technological advancements; new management tools, processes, or concepts; or contemporary agriculture and natural resources issues via an exhibit (display, presentation, or demonstration) at Wisconsin Farm Technology Days. The intent of the Award is to broadly encourage CALS faculty and staff to design creative ways to convey research-based information from CALS to its agricultural and natural resources constituents. The Award selection committee appointed by the CALS Dean will review applications and view related exhibits at Wisconsin Farm Progress Days. Applications and exhibits will be judged on the basis of the following criteria, with relative weights to be determined by committee:

  • Significance of the technology, concept, or information exhibited
  • Creativity of the exhibit and uniqueness of dissemination techniques
  • Quality of handouts and general attractiveness and readability of the exhibit
  • Strength of the linkage to CALS research and knowledge base
  • Success in transferring the exhibit's message
  • Appropriateness of the information transfer technique for the WFPD setting

Award winners are not eligible for the Award for a period of 2 years following receipt of the award. The selection committee may elect to withhold granting the Award in years when there are no suitable applications.

Past Recipients


Carrie Laboski, Chris Baxter, Fransico Arriga, John Peters, Matt Ruark and Doug Soldat - Soil Doctors


Scott Craven, David Drake and Jamie Nack, Wildlife on the Farm, Forest and Wildlife Ecology


Bryan Jensen, et al, Grain Crops Team, Field Crop Demonstration


Center for Dairy Profitability and Farm and Risk Management Team, Managing in Difficult Times


Cheryl Skjolaas, Agricultural Safety, Biological Systems Engineering Department


David Drake and Jamie Nack, Wildlife on the Farm, Forest and Wildlife Ecology Department


Chris Boerboom, Weed Doctors, Agronomy Department


Bryan Jensen, Plant Doctors, Horticulture and Agronomy Departments


Ron Schuler and Jeff Nelson, Farm Machinery Demonstrations, Biological Systems Engineering


Keith Kelling and John Peters, Soil Doctors, Soil Science Department


Rebecca Christoffel and Scott Cravens, ‘Wildlife on the Farm’, Forest and Wildlife Ecology Department


Chris Boerboom and Jerry Doll, ‘Weed Doctors’, Agronomy Department